Loud 3D

3 Jun

Hey: anybody out there ever seen this?

Loud 3D

It’s a slim, softcover volume put together in Dec. ’84 by Gary Robert, Rob Kulakosky, and Mike Arredondo (with help from the Maximum Rock N Roll crew) up in the Bay Area. And it’s filled with nothing but – get this: 3-D IMAGES of all your favorite hardcore bands!

3D glasses

Now I must’ve ordered it out of the pages of MRR sometime in ’85/’86. Cause I thought I was a punker. True HxCx, you know? Little did I know I’d eventually end up being one of them TIRED-ASS NEW-RO POSEUR HIPPIE GLAMFAG METALHEADS everybody moaned about back then.

BFsurfer

The book ain’t particularly relevatory, but you’re not likely to see a copy of it anytime soon. It’s got a few bands in it I listened to at the time – BLACK FLAG, DK’s, FEAR, MINOR THREAT, 7 SECONDS – and alot I didn’t (THE LEWD, CAUSE FOR ALARM, STRANGLEHOLD, and somebody named RIISTYTET, who were apparently Finnish). But it did suceed in making my buddy Bob laugh hard the other night (“shit, this guy’s middle finger is practically UP MY NOSE!”) as we talked about how bad that American Hardcore documentary turned out to be. Yep: I’m glad I kept it.

Olga DeVolga

I was always a Flipside reader myself. But you know: I tried really hard to get on board that Max R’N’R activist train in the mid-80’s, I really did. I bought an Augusto Sandino t-shirt that I wore to death. I listened hard to the SUBHUMANS record with that song about killing Mickey Mouse on it. I even went vegetarian! But in the end, I’d always be lured back to loud, rockin’ things with questionable/perverse lyrical content. Ah, well.

Ian MacKaye

Those MRR guys were probably well-intentioned. I went to college with a dude (called himself Jux) who eventually joined their team/army, and I can vouch for him, he was a great one. But the mag was kinda dry, the lack of color kinda draining, and not a joke in sight . . . it did seem they were asking just A BIT MUCH of their readership. And Flipside, well – they didn’t ask a goddamn thing of me, other than my dollar. And maybe, that I bring a sense of wild fun to the preceedings – which most people don’t NEVER ask of me to do. I still appreciate that warm invitation, 2+ decades on.

Jello

10 Responses to “Loud 3D”

  1. Joe Stumble June 5, 2007 at 12:03 pm #

    I have never seen this…what an insane idea.

    I agree with watcha say about Flipside versus MRR too. There’s a new online archive of both zines and you can really see the difference between the two.

    http://www.operationphoenixrecords.com/archivespage.html

    Flipside was a truly great mag and I always felt it conveyed that whole Sunset Strip LA vibe perfectly while MRR had that whole ex-hippie Berkley radical thing which just wasn’t as interesting to read for me either.

  2. mrowster June 5, 2007 at 4:37 pm #

    Agreed. Flipside was pretty stupid sometimes, but hey so were some of my friends! I could swing with that, no prob. Disregarding specific gripes, it was the overall chastising tone of MMR that irked me. I had enough of that my parents/friends/self – I didn’t need the PUNKERS getting on my case too.

  3. JB June 6, 2007 at 7:38 pm #

    I think you pegged it on the word chaste. At least in Flipside you would get the occasional glimpse of some SKIN of some scenester’s blotto lapse at a party – hopefully one of the mythic Masque regulars. MRR – well I guess it was fine if your were into sweaty, hairless and shirtless aggro teenagers. Me, I would take the Plungers and John Denney anyday over Tim Yo and whatever anti-Reagan rant was popular. I did enjoy much of American Hardcore (the MDC anectdotes are great), which on the whole I didn’t think was too shabby. Hinman’s post hit it a while back with the comments.

  4. mrowster June 6, 2007 at 7:57 pm #

    Well some of the footage was real good in AM HC . . . but I just didn’t find much of the oral history compelling in any way at all. I’m not sure why this was (shit editing? poor choice of interviews?) but I was squirming in my seat half way through. And I am, most definitely, THE TARGET AUDIENCE.

  5. JB June 6, 2007 at 8:16 pm #

    One could go on and on about the ommissions, lack of coherent story etc. Maybe on tv it does not translate as well. I saw it at a packed house at the Nuart here in LA, and with a lot of audience talkback smack at dopes like that AOC dude, I thought it was pretty good. I mean it was practically a Bad Brains doco. To me, seeing the Bad Brains in context made all the HC stuff seem like enlightened childsplay. Fuck, those dudes could practically play Mahavishnu Orchestra type stuff then roll into Banned in DC. Some suburban teen stiff out of Canton or Gainesville or Tuscon just doesnt hack it for me in retrospect – no doubt they have made good one-off KBD comp tracks. Only stuff from teenagers like Negative Approach can cut it because they came from another heavier and gnarlier planet altogther. I guess what I am getting at is that I want all killer lps. Sure, there are amazing 45s, but where are the lps from these folks. I know, someone will say that HC as a teenage genre was supposed to be on 45s. If that is the case, explain Tied Down, Damaged, the Punch Line, Conquest for Death, Walk Among Us or any other classic lps that managed to be coherent and sustained works of art.

  6. mrowster June 6, 2007 at 8:37 pm #

    Haha – yeah, I agree about the lack of amazing HC albums, as well as the bas-relief quality to BAD BRAINS talent. Ian M. pretty much acknowledges that in the film.
    I also got a kick outta what that Texan from CULTURCIDE said, something to the effect of: “people’d ask us if we were shooting for the top. And then you’d haveta explain to em: ‘oh, no – you don’t understand the scene we’re into – we’re trying to LEVEL the top.” I liked those little insights into what motivated these people back then, cause it’s THAT stuff that really sticks with me about the time. I just felt the film got caught up in trying to tell the whole story, talk with all the key players, etc., it kinda lost it’s way.

  7. purlygrrrl June 7, 2007 at 10:28 pm #

    You are so a NEW-RO POSEUR HIPPIE GLAMFAG METALHEAD it isn’t even funny.

    Discovered MRR after Flipside. I pretended to read it because I thought it made me cooler.

  8. Dave Lang June 16, 2007 at 1:00 am #

    Just wanna throw in a quick 2 cents regarding Flipside and MRR. I was a fanatical reader of both throughout high school right until I was about 21 or ‘2. For me they were two sides of the same coin – underground rock music – but tackled it from very different angles, and both went very rapidly downhill sometime around ’94 or so. As much as everyone can laugh about the rabid leftist politics of MRR, for a gormless putz teenager stuck in the ‘burbs in Melbourne, it was a hell of an eye-opener to read articles on Nicaragua, CIA, Iran-Contra, etc. in a goddamn PUNK ROCK magazine when you’re 14 years old. Sure, they were one-eyed in their approach, but I corresponded w/ Tim Yo on and off for many years and whatever faults he may’ve had, he was a stand-up guy who would encourage any putz (like myself) to stick to their guns and get off their ass and contribute. Same goes for Jeff Bale (who’s a great guy) and others who fled the flock, like Larry Livermore. I’ve read a couple – and I do mean a couple – of issues in the last 10 years of the mag, and I can honestly say that since Tim Yo died it appears to’ve generated into a lame gossip column. Perhaps it always was and I never saw it. But anyway, there’s still a few fine writers contributing amongst the dreck, and they DID have a cover story on Randy “Biscuit” Turner just six months back.
    Flipside never had brilliant writing, but it covered SO much stuff it always made a semi-worthwhile read. For me it ate shit when its writers (again, around ’94) simply couldn’t seem to seperate the wheat from the chaff. I have some mid-’90s issues where the coverage of music – 3rd-rate LA grunge and punk has-beens – is outright embarrassing. Whatever happened to Krk, Cake and all that crew anyway??

  9. mrowster June 16, 2007 at 7:35 am #

    Dave: I totally grant you this – you obviously can’t be choosy when MRR is all you’ve got. And honestly, I might well be more alligned with some of MRR’s political views today, than in ’86!

    It all coulda had a similar effect on my teen mind too, except I didn’t ever read the MRR articles that closely. Plus my penpals grew out of Flipside classifieds. So, I followed that.

  10. The Automatik July 19, 2007 at 11:49 pm #

    Flipside, the fanzine for people who don’t even know how to read!

    One thing I remember distinctly about Flipside in the mid 90s is a review of Hole’s Live Through This that managed to diss Nirvana.

    I’ll let you guess who wrote it.

Leave a Reply

