Trivial Dead

28 Mar

Oh boy oh boy oh boy OH BOY! Yep, it’s finally ARRIVED!

game

THE GRATEFUL DEAD GAME is sitting in my lap as I type this. Now lemme tell ya: this purchase was a controversial one. Take a peek at what my wife had to say about it all on her blog earlier today:

A few months ago, M bid on and won a Greatful Dead Board Game. I think he paid a lot for it, and paid even more to have it shipped overseas. It came today and after seriously trying to hide it from him, he found it and opened it. He is threatening to make me play it. When I told him no, he said that he would then force (*name deleted) to play it with him. I miss her but you know, maybe it’s a good thing she’s in America right now! Though the idea of (*name deleted) beating him at this game is a satisfying idea.

The box says Ages: Adult. Haha…don’t they mean Acid Casualty Boomer? The goal of the game is to collect little tickets while you move a dancing skeleton around a collage of off-their-head dancing Dead Heads printed on the board.

Already M is looking at the cards going, “Man, these questions are super hard.”

And this just proves my theory– with all their lip service to love and light, hippies are the most hung up, retentive and controlling people. Ever.

(Have you ever seen a Head open their suitcase of live Dead cassettes? Did you try to touch them? Do you remember what happened? I rest my case while simultaneously dating myself)

If I must play it, will try to make this into a drinking game. For the good of the marriage.

Sheesh. I’m sure (well, pretty sure) she’s just taking the piss. Hell she’s the only one in the marriage to’ve actually seen THE DEAD play live, and multiple times at that. In the Bay Area no less! Yeah she’ll NEVER live that down.

BUT ANYWAY, the only problem I can see is . . . well you sorta need TWO OR MORE DEADHEADS to play. One Deadhead + clueless participant (willin’ or otherwise) just won’t cut it. Said participant would no doubt lose her pretty, everlovin’ mind after like 2 questions as the questions are, well, super hard. Here’s a sample question: “Creditors repossessed Pigpen’s organ in San Francisco in the 1960’s due to the band’s outstanding debts. Did or Didn’t?” Uh, yeah.

So who else is gonna join in to play? I promise, I’ll go easy onya.

12 Responses to “Trivial Dead”

  1. mark March 28, 2008 at 8:55 pm #

    I’ll try. Lemme know how we can hook up a trans-continental game.

  2. mrowster March 28, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    I’ll haveta hook up my webcam if we’re gonna do this right . . .

  3. mark March 28, 2008 at 10:49 pm #

    I guess I’ll have to buy one, too.

  4. eugene March 29, 2008 at 3:00 pm #

    as i said on your missus’ entry, unless all the questions are about the video for touch of gray then i won’t do very well. i’ve never been more proud of my ignorance.

  5. mrowster March 29, 2008 at 3:12 pm #

    Maybe I can cobble all the Touch Of Gray questions into a modified, sudden death round for play out in Southend only.

  6. mark March 29, 2008 at 5:21 pm #

    What is the name of the dog that runs across the stage in the Touch of Gray video?

  7. eugene March 29, 2008 at 11:20 pm #

    i remember the dog takes the drummer’s leg. does that get me partial credit?

  8. nazz nomad March 29, 2008 at 11:56 pm #

    That sounds like a pretty cool game. But you should get to take a bong hit for every correct answer.
    I’m in for a trans-oceanic game!
    Here’s a question… What Sports team’s clothing was featured in the Touch Of Grey video?

    and another…
    what idiot and his girlfriend/wife was actually at the Dead concerts the weekend the video for Touch Of Grey was shot (extra points if you know where the show was)!

    and what’s yer wife’s blog?

  9. mark March 30, 2008 at 1:45 am #

    If it’s the same dog, I believe his name is Otis. But I could be wrong. Ok, I’m now more of a dork than ever. And I’m listening to the Joe Perry Project right now, to boot.

  10. mark March 30, 2008 at 4:44 am #

    In the interest of balance I just played Bomb the Mars Hotel by Eleventh Dream Day. My wife likes that song much more that anything by the Joe Perry Project. Chicks.

  11. mrowster March 30, 2008 at 8:29 am #

    Wait, so I am to believe Otis the dog went on to play for the Joe Perry Project? That’s just creepy.

    Nazz: My wife’s main blog is http://feralstrumpet.wordpress.com/

    She’s also got a filtered Livejournal thing, which is where this piece first appeared. I don’t even have access to that one!

  12. Zooomabooma April 15, 2008 at 11:43 am #

    “That sounds like a pretty cool game. But you should get to take a bong hit for every correct answer.”

    I’ve given up the ganja but that would be tempting as hell!

    And Touch of Grey was filmed at Laguna Seca in Monterey. There are pictures of the shoot in Jay Blakesberg’s book Between The Dark And The Light.

Leave a Reply

