Northeast Los Angeles punk

28 Jul

THE BRAT – “High School”
Just the greatest 53 seconds of LA punk I’ve stumbled across on YouTube lately. I mean it’s archetypal: the sun beating down on the spanish tile roofing, Lincoln Park spreading out behind, her purple dress, and that slashing, killing riff. I admit I bought their Attitudes 10″ record as a kid only cause it came endorsed by Exene Cervenka – she did some of the cover lettering. But hey at least I bought the damn thing, and proceeded to spin this song to utter pieces. “Didn’t learn a goddamn thing/ didn’t buy a fucking ring…” – wish I could view the current Vexing: Female Voices From East LA Punk show at the Claremont Museum of Art – no doubt I’d be floored.

4 Responses to “Northeast Los Angeles punk”

  1. mark July 28, 2008 at 11:09 pm #

    I wish I could get down there to see that one, too. Alice Bag’s blog has a review, I think. My only exposure to the Brat was a blurb in the New Wave/Punk special issue of Creem. That issue convinced me that Metal might not be the only way.

  2. K Talley-Jones July 30, 2008 at 12:47 am #

    Great YouTube find! JTJ and I went to the see the exhibit and enjoyed it, although it’s a little strange to see your past on a museum wall. 100F played the Vex a couple of times; our pal Mike Patton (the Middle Class one, not the other one) booked it for awhile.

    Great blog–you’ve given me insight into bands that I didn’t appreciate at the time.

  3. mrowster July 30, 2008 at 8:26 pm #

    Thank you K. And do thank J for all his wonderful work with THE URINALS/100 FLOWERS/TROTSKY ICEPICK – we still spin it lots here at PS Recon.

  4. fred August 11, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    WOW, thanks, I only saw the Brat twice, but man I loved that band! I think one of those dudes was the guy from the Eyes?

    “Didn’t find that fucking ring” sooory had to fix that

Leave a Reply

