Nightmare Before Mike Patton

11 Sep

It’s official! My wife, her gal-pal, said gal-pal’s new NEGATIVE APPROACH-loving Kiwi hubbie and I are bound for ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas this 5-7 December at Butlin’s holiday resort in Minehead out along the Somerset coast. Yep that’s here in the UK you idiots. Curated by THE MELVINS & (ahem) Mike Patton. Egghead whitenoise types collide head-on with dudes with braided beards wearing NEUROSIS long-sleeve T’s for a little ring-around-the-punkeroo to spite the grim English winter. You and I know who’ll emerge victorious.

Big names? You got it buster: THE MELVINS, FANTOMAS, JG THIRWELL, BOSS HOG, ISIS, THE BUTTHOLE SURFERS, OS MUTANTES, MEAT PUPPETS, frickin’ TEENAGE JESUS AND THE JERKS . . . and the glory that still is THE DAMNED. Don’t ask me why THE DAMNED are like my favorite band I really didn’t listen all that closely to growing up, but I now do left/right/center. Don’t try and argue: they are great and inventive and such fun and oh my I can’t wait to see a geriatric Dave Vanian and Capt. Sensible rip through anything from their last (actually really good) CD from 2001, Grave Disorder. Course, I’ll settle for “Smash It Up”, too.

Among the littler ones, there’s BIG BUSINESS (MELVINS roadies); THE DIRTBOMBS (black-led NYC garage rock); DOUBLE NEGATIVE (North Carolina HC featuring cartoonist Brian Walsby) and the new folks I’m most excited about: TWEAK BIRD (incestuous sibling gtr/drums bludgeon duo from a post-Mrowster SoCal). Just prop me up in front of the Marshall stacks with a couple of cans of Foster’s, and I’ll be living the dream.

(OK so all I really know about these ATP holiday concentration camp experiences is what I gleaned from this informative home movie, courtesy of the good folks in REDD KROSS. But hey I got my bucket and spade packed already – seaside holidaymaking never seemed so grotesquely appealing. Join us there if you can!)

5 Responses to “Nightmare Before Mike Patton”

  1. mark September 11, 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    To quote Rollins “it’s now my turn to be jealous”!
    Gotta get SST in there somewhere, of course.

  2. mrowster September 11, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    I wonder if THE MEAT PUPPETS will play anything off of Up On The Sun . . .

  3. mark September 11, 2008 at 9:32 pm #

    Enjoy Dirtbombs: they’re a great live act. Man, I wish Teenage Jesus would do a tour.
    “A long time agoooo……”

  4. eugene September 12, 2008 at 5:41 pm #

    sounds like an interesting line-up. enjoy your show!

  5. Dave Lang September 13, 2008 at 12:36 am #

    “Egghead whitenoise types collide head-on with dudes with braided beards wearing NEUROSIS long-sleeve T’s for a little ring-around-the-punkeroo”… I think you just summed up the audience who will be present, though you neglected to mention eyebrow piercings. Still, sounds pretty fun to me!

Leave a Reply

