Relatin’ Dudes to SST

4 Oct

Man oh man oh man did I ever hoot outloud when Donut Duck over at the SST Records-loving blog, The Blasting Concept, published this post about an unknown mid-80’s bass & drums duo who once called themselves THE CHASTITY TWINS. While these CHASTITY boys never left the garage, a pantload of SST Records sure as hell found their way into their bedrooms. The TWINS not only worked up a bunch of instrumental MINUTEMEN tunage, but they also tried their hand at BLACK FLAG, GONE, and frickin’ PAINTED WILLIE songs too. Nuts! The bassist goes for it like only a teen who’d recently fallen under the gargantuan spell of Watt’s Thud Staff could’ve. And all in gloriously muddy, lo-fi cassette deck fidelity – though this kinda microsubcultural homage couldn’t possibly exist any other way. Download their entire Dudes Jammin’ ’86 spiel tape here.

10 Responses to “Relatin’ Dudes to SST”

  1. mark October 6, 2008 at 7:22 pm #

    Well over here in yutzville I’ve tried to download this sucker on two separate computers, to no avail. Ack, ack, ack!

  2. mrowster October 6, 2008 at 8:13 pm #

    Drat. And I figured you in particular would get a kick outta this. As the link does still appear to work, maybe I’ll haveta to cook up some other link esp. for you . . .

  3. John October 7, 2008 at 6:26 am #

    Much respect!

  4. John October 7, 2008 at 7:33 am #

    I don’t want to over do it but I couldn’t resist sharing with you a Chastity Twins bonus track:

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0D21LAY3

    Also, I have to plug my myspace page especially since Donut Duck was the inspiration to rip and post on myspace the first two tracks from a band born right after Chastity Twins. The band was called Number Two and we named the first tune D Boone as we thought the guitar part was reminiscent of his playing. On listening back however, I think the guitar sounds more like a Watt bassline. For further evidence of the SST influence, track 3 is myself covering Meat Puppets and track 5 is a freeform instrumental project a’la Gone, Saccharine Trust and October Faction that we called Optimus Prime. In fact, Donut’s gift of St Vitus recordings recently helped me recognize the similarity between Dave Chandler’s and my buddy Craig’s guitar style. I hope you enjoy and again thanks for the kind words!

    • brekinapez September 18, 2013 at 4:43 am #

      You’ll probably never see this as it has been years since these comments were made, but did Number 2 ever play the Hogsbreath Saloon in G’ville. opening for Killdozer maybe?

  5. John October 7, 2008 at 7:34 am #

    The myspace page is here:

    http://www.myspace.com/johnmortenseniii

  6. mrowster October 7, 2008 at 8:55 am #

    John: Glad to see you are still at it. And a CHASTITY bonus track! I love it. But wait . . . this one, not the cut on the 6-song download, is “What Is It” – right? There are so many MINUTEMEN songs, it’s hard keeping em straight.

    All that trebly gtr on “Here Comes His Horde” track hit me like something off that D. Boon & Friends CD. Though I can hear the insect-scrambling Dave Chandler thing in there too. Encore! Encore!

  7. John October 7, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    Yes, the bonus track is the actual What Is It and the incorrectly labeled one in the RAR file is actually Dream Told By Motto. I was then, and remain today a huge Watt fan. Funny story about meeting Watt: my friends and I caught a scorching fIREHOSE set on their second tour in Jacksonville Beach, Florida in ’87. After the show I walked up upon my friends chatting with Watt in the parking lot. A friend introduced me to Watt as “the most Watt inspired bassist”. I was so amped from the show that when he extended his hand to shake, I instinctively went for the full on hug without even thinking. He was cool with it and checked my finger tips for callouses before welcoming me as a bonafied member of “the brotherhood of bass”. He then proceeded to literally hold my hand for the next five minutes while he continued to converse with my friends. It was wierd and uncomfortable at first and I couldn’t really participate in the conversation but I’ll never forget the time minutes he took to make me feel like a true bassist!

  8. mrowster October 7, 2008 at 5:56 pm #

    Ha! Great story. Watt clearly has no problem giving folks what they need in the moment. No wonder you’re still flying the flannel after all these years.

  9. Tom G November 8, 2008 at 10:02 pm #

    Hi John, If you see this, it’s me, your old roomie in Gainesville. Its funny how memories fade and mutate over the years. I was one of those talking with Watt on the sidewalk that night (your girlfriend had just gotten popped for underage drinking). My recollection of events were slightly different than yours. No matter. I do know that the date had to have taken place after January ’89 cause thats when I moved to Gainesville. the only time I had met you prior to that was at that Butthole Surfers show in St. Pete.

Leave a Reply

